…and then there were two…

Posted On October 24, 2002

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

Many things are afoot at work these days. Things that make for a more interesting life.
Today was Raul’s last day at Impress. His eyes were rather red/watery as he said good bye to everyone. Blanca seemed to be the one that was the most upset over his departure. She cried after he was gone. It’s interesting to note that because she has only worked with him for 7 months. He’s worked with me for more than 4 years, and with Andrejko for something like 10 years!
I was a bit miffed to see that nobody even bouht Raul lunch today! I mean, I totally would have done it if he would have been around when I was ready to eat. I was even going to give him a card, but I decided not to because the whole thing felt like one big cruel joke, and I didn’t want to be the only sucker falling for it. Raul said he was gonna start working at Aperture on Thursday, but nobody seemed to be taking him seriously. I knew he was serious, but everyone else seemed to be ignoring the fact. Nobody was doing anything to find a replacement… Nobody was mentioning a going away party… It was just work as usual. Raul deserved way more than that!
I don’t think anyone knows how much I admire Raul. Nobody knows how much I value his wisdom and more importantly, his opinion. Raul isn’t one to sugar coat anything. He’ll be straight up with you, if not ruthlessly hard on you. (I said “hard on”!) A lot of people might think of him as an asshole, but that’s the thing about Raul… He’ll be the first one to tell you that he’s an asshole.
I can’t stop thinking about how much more work is going to suck now that Raul is gone. Even Andrejko was talking about how much losing Raul sucks. I think his exact words were “That really really sucks!”. But I’ve been through it all before… It was probably the worst when Chad left. Which brings me to another development at work that I could use Chad’s assistance in… LAY-MES!!
But I’m too tired at the moment to get into that.

Leave a Reply

