The world is not enough.

Posted On February 8, 2002

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 4 responses

I worked on FANLESS.com for a couple of hours tonight, and I changed the way entries are embedded. I also enabled comments. It still bothers me that the comment pages look like ass, but there isn’t much I can do about it.
I don’t like how my subject line is breaking onto 2 lines. I’m too tired to figure it out now. I also don’t like how my stock journal shows up when you go to look at older entries. I might just get rid of that, or figure out some way to change it. I could just make the embeded style my default style, but I don’t really wanna do that.
That’s pretty much all I have to say at this moment.

4 Responses to “The world is not enough.”

  1. ibrad

    You have to change the link url to older entries to customview.cgi?alltheotherstuff=thatisalreadythere&skip=10 for it to use your style for viewing older entries.

    • FANLESS

      Yeah, but I stripped out all of the headder stuff so I could use my SSI so that I could change one file and it will change the whole site.
      If I were to use the style I’m using now, not embedded, then it would look like this… http://www.livejournal.com/customview.cgi?username=cpcalzadillas&styleid=57813
      Obviously I could make another style with the body properties and everything else needed, but I wasn’t up to it lastnight. But yeah… I could use the customviewcgi instead of changing my default style.

      • ibrad

        I don’t think you understand… most of that is irrelevant.
        Regardless of what method you’re using to embed it or what LJ username you’re embedding, the style you embedded is this one, correct?
        http://www.livejournal.com/customview.cgi?username=cpcalzadillas&styleid=57813
        And both on that style and on your content.shtml, when you click “go earlier” down at the bottom, it goes to:
        http://www.livejournal.com/users/cpcalzadillas/?skip=10
        Which is of the same default style you’ve got on , of course. When you said “I also don’t like how my stock journal shows up when you go to look at older entries. I might just get rid of that, or figure out some way to change it.” I assumed you meant that you wanted older entries (“go earlier” pages) to match the custom style (the pink and green one). Is that not what you want?
        See, what most people don’t realize is that customview.cgi can handle &skip=%%numitems%%. Unfortunately you’re limited in your usage of this because all of the variables within %%skiplinks%% don’t allow you to customize the URL (href). So you could hard-code in a link (within the correct frame) to this URL:
        http://www.livejournal.com/customview.cgi?username=cpcalzadillas&styleid=57813&skip=10
        ..and also include a link to a pink-and-green-ized calendar for if people want to go back more than 10 entries, because LiveJournal isn’t smart enough to allow you to add %%numitems%% and the number of entries already skipped within those links (otherwise you’d be able to do what you want).
        But really, I don’t see why you are so worried about putting that style on your cpcalzadillas journal. It’s not like you don’t have 3 other journals that you can keep the default styles of. 🙂

  2. Anonymous

    We are Calzadillas people
    Hey my name is Derek Calzadillas. I was just searching the web. I was wondering how common my last name is. Are you from Michigan? Well anyway maybe its just a common hispanic last name. You can email me at thatkilgoretrout@aol.com. If you have any input. If you don’t then that is ok also. Heh.. its funny the right side of my lip is pierced also.

Leave a Reply

